30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Survived the first week of school!

Leave a comment

I am loving back to school. The kids are back into their routine and while the first week was busy, I am glad they are enjoying being back at school. The school bell now rings at 8:15am, this means the kids need to be on the playground at 8am(ish). We made the mistake of driving the first day. Well to be honest the kids back packs weight more than Aidan so we decided there would be slightly less grumbling if we drove.

Big mistake.

While there was no grumbling from the children, there were swear words from myself. The Elementary school and High school now start at the same time. This equals a shit show of traffic. It’s a good thing that Kindergarten doesn’t start the same week as the rest of the school otherwise shit show wouldn’t even begin to cover what a mess that would have been.

The kids all seem quite happy with their classmates, class rooms and teachers. Madeline was a little sad to find out that one of her friends moved away during the summer. She was really looking forward to seeing this friend so it was a little hard on her. They re-organization could bring some changes, but hopefully the kids stay where they are.

We have been managing well getting up an hour before they need to be at school. This will have to change come winter. There is so much crap to get on and then of course I am planning on getting them to walk as much as possible so this of course means, leaving earlier than normal as well.

I tried to salvage some of the front garden. I had plans for it this spring and then I had to be all grown up and get a job. So the plans kind of fell through and the garden basically turned to weeds. Oh so many weeds. The hedges around this tree also became quite over grown. So yesterday I decided that since the weather was nice, it would be a great idea to tackle the weeds. Oh my god. Today. Everything. Hurts. I have to work tonight and as I sit here typing this, my arms ache with every keystroke. How the frig am I supposed to do my job tonight. Basically, this blog entry is warming up my stiff muscles so that work doesn’t suck tonight.

The worst part is that I’m not even done the damn garden!! There is so much more to rip out and then I want to put down that weed fabric so that next spring I don’t have as much crap to pull out when it gets neglected for weeks on end. This garden sucks. It wasn’t dug down deep enough and then filled with good soil. It’s pretty much clay with a bit of dirt and mulch thrown on top. Frustrating. I’d like to start over, however this girl is not made of money!

In other kid related news, the girls are starting Brownies this week. We haven’t put Aidan into anything yet. All three will continue with their swimming lessons starting next weekend. The girls are in Swimmer 5 and Aidan is in Swimmer 3. Aidan has improved so much this summer! We are so proud of him. He went from not wanting to let go of the side or a parent to being able to swim to the bottom of the deep end to retrieve a ring! The girls are doing well of course as well. They graduated from Swimmer 3 and were able to pass 4 and go directly to Swimmer 5. I hope to keep the kids interested in swimming as long as possible. It’s something I always enjoyed and certainly can cost less than other sports!!

Time to go clean the house so that the babysitter doesn’t think we are total slobs. She is picking the kids up from school today and hanging out with them until the husband gets home from work. I’m working afternoons and won’t see the kids again until my alarm goes off at 6:45 to get them up for school. Ugh. Some serious high 5’s to all the working parents out there. And high 5’s to awesome babysitters. I’m so glad we found two great ones. The kids are always so happy when they get to spend time with them!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

