30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Back to school may just break my bank account

Leave a comment

My father used to joke that he was going to cut my big toes off every year when I needed a new pair of shoes. Now that I have 3 pairs of feet as well as my own to put shoes on, I am starting to understand a bit better why he joked about this.

This year Isabelle needed outdoor and indoor shoes. Goodbye $130. Aidan needed outdoor shoes. Goodbye $65. Madeline needed outdoor shoes. Goodbye another $65. I still have yet to purchase back to school items on that wonderful list the school sends home with the final report card. Throw in Isabelle will be needing some new clothes for this fall/winter.

I feel like I should have kept my second paying job. Back to school is costing way too much money. I realize that the teachers aren’t getting enough money to cover the costs of supplies. I don’t mind buying a few things here and there throughout the year. Honestly, I’d rather they asked us to do that. Dropping nearly $150 on supplies at the end of the summer can be a little rough.

We have kept our summer rather low key, but I still have a few plans up my sleeve to entertain the kids. Yet, I find myself weighing the costs of these activities against what I will need for back to school.

Isabelle’s list is a little better this year. She will need 4 colour specific duo-tangs. Thankfully I still have a stash from last year. 1pkg of Crayola crayons. 1pkg of Crayola washable markers. 2 highlighters. 1 thick black Sharpie and 1 thin black Sharpie. (Isabelle seems really pumped about this, who knew Sharpies were so important to a third grader!!) 6 jumbo glue sticks. 1 calculator. 4 white erasers. 3 boxes of Kleenex. And finally 1 package of unscented, alcohol free baby wipes.

Isabelle is going to be pissed that she is not to have a pencil case or box this year. She was over the moon last year when she had to buy one. Then she had her spirit crushed when her English teacher sent it home. Not sure why the French kids need one and the English ones don’t. Likely I will be buying her one regardless and she can keep her stuff at home in it.

Here’s what the twins need, keep in mind this will all be x2.

Duo-tangs, not plastic. White, red, black, green yellow, orange, blue. (Again, I still have  stash from last year.) 1 pkg Crayola crayons. 1 pkg of pencil crayons. 1 pkg of Crayola washable markers. 1 highlighter. 2 large glue sticks. 1 washable white school glue. 1 pencil box. 1 white eraser. 3 boxes of Kleenex and 2 packages of unscented, alcohol free baby wipes.

My plan is to start shopping for all of this soon. I have waited and then had a really hard time finding what I needed. However, if you go too soon then you are still paying the regular price for most of it. Isabelle has been on me lately to get out and get the shopping done. She is in love with back to school shopping. I asked her what was so special about it and she just loves the idea of getting all new stuff. I reminded her that she doesn’t get to use any of this until she takes it to school but she doesn’t seem to care.

Since buying them all new shoes, they have been wearing them almost non stop. I got up yesterday morning to all the kids still in pajama’s and wearing their shoes. It’s kind of adorable.

We made the trip to the Michigan Science Centre last week and the kids had a blast. I was a little worried that they were going to be bored since nothing has changed since the last time we went. Wrong. It was a great day! I didn’t take any pictures because I had my phone off and totally forgot that we have a regular camera! I hope to get them to the Hands on Museum in Ann Arbor before school starts. If not, I believe it’s fairly educational and worth missing school for!!

Work is going well. I work in a few hours and the kids aren’t pleased that I am 1. missing dinner and 2. not going to be tucking them in tonight and 3. will not be home to read Harry Potter.

Speaking of Potter. I am a total sucker for the Harry Potter Funko Pop figures. The guy at the store was trying to sell me the collector’s sleeve which will keep out all dust etc. Um, yeah we are collecting them, but not in the way most people are. The kids had those suckers out of the boxes before we even got in the van! So far we have Hagrid, Harry, Hermione in her dress, Ron, Dumbledore and Sirius Black. We are well in to book 5 and while I’m really enjoying it, the kids seem a little bored of this one. I have been trying to decide if perhaps we should put it away for a while and read some other books or just keep going. It’s hard to put them down because I am really enjoying how much they are able to recall from the other books. We even end up having little discussions about what we think is going to happen or what has happened in the past that could spark something in the future. I love seeing their little minds at work.

With back to school on the brain, I leave you with this as it always makes me chuckle!

7fe23e5056623e5b08ae93bbeaf2a3c0

 

 

 

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

