30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

My kids are weird…

Leave a comment

My kids think it’s absolutely awesome that there is the slightest possibility that they will be latch-key. To bring you up to speed if you don’t know what Latch-Key is, here it’s before and after school care run by the day care that is associated with the kids school. I believe I have touched on this topic before in a previous rambling…errh….blog post.

The kids are pumped for me to get a job. If I have an interview during the day while they are at school, the first thing they ask when they seem me after school is “Do I start Latch-Key tomorrow?” I’m such an asshole when I say “Nope!” and then they act as if I have crushed their soul and they are about to give up their will to live. It’s rather comical for me, hence the asshole part since I really want to tell them yes only to then say “hahaha just kidding!!!”

Yesterday, tearfully, Madeline told me about a conversation she had with one of her friends at school. She told this friend that I was having some interviews and would be getting a job, thus she would no longer be able to exit the school with her and walk her towards the busses. This friend got a bit upset. This made Madeline upset. So Madeline, with her big loving heart, drew her friend a picture which seemed to help resolve the situation. I suggested to Madeline that she not talk about her being Latch-Key until she is actually going to be Latch-Key. She agreed as she didn’t want to upset any more of her friends.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

