30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Mommy does not do 4:30am

Leave a comment

untitled22Even if I could drink endless amounts of caffeine I don’t think it would help how sleepy I am feeling today.

Aidan is not generally an early riser. If it hadn’t been for the mysterious shadows on his walls at 4:30 this morning he wouldn’t have woken me up asking if he could please sleep on the couch. I wasn’t really in the mood to argue. He really could have just gone there on his own. I think he just needed a little reassurance that the shadows weren’t out to get him. He had barely turned to leave and already my eyes were clamping shut.

I don’t do early.

It felt like minutes when I awoke to “MOOOOMMMMY!”

My brain didn’t really understand at first. Then it happened again. “MOOOOOMMMMMMMMMYYYY I NEED HELP!!”

Shit! I’m up! Come out to the living room because he’s supposed to be on the couch but he’s not there.

“Where are you!?”

“I’m in the front bathroom and I had a poop shoot out!!”

I’m to tired to even find this statement funny. Poor kid. Thankfully he can haul ass to the bathroom when needed. I can always count on him for that. Help him get cleaned up and back into his bed on the couch.

It’s 5:05am when I get back into bed. Close my eyes. Eyes pop open. Close my eyes again. Eyes basically tell me to shove it. I’m awake. So I checked the usual stuff out on my phone, Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram and was about to play some Candy Crush when I turned off my phone and decided to try to sleep again.

I was out. Felt like another two minutes went by before my phone went off signaling it was time to get up and get the kids moving. Oh my god I wanted to die. I was having the best sleep of my life. That phone is lucky I didn’t smash it with the baseball bat that sits next to my bed. I re set the alarm so I could have another 25 minutes of sleep. It was great but not awesome.

Thankfully Aidan seems to be feeling just fine now. No more poops rocketing out of his tiny body. I am seriously looking forward to the weekend and keeping all my fingers and toes crossed that the kids will let me stay in bed until 9am like they did last weekend!!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

