30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

The calm before the storm

Leave a comment

Tomorrow is April 1st. I don’t have any brilliant April Fools planned. I have never really been in to this day. This day does however mark that I will have 22 days until we leave for Florida. You know how some people book their vacation and it’s not for months but are literally packed two days later? Yeah…..I’m not that person. At least not since having children.

I get these wonderful messages from Facebook about my memories. This time two years ago I was freaking out because we were leaving on vacation to Florida and the husband was in another city for court and wasn’t too sure he’d be making it home in time for our departure. This year we don’t have the stress of his work stuff, but I have the stress of final exams. My last exam is 2 days before we leave.

I am doing my best to use my day time wisely to study. Trouble is shit still has to get done folks. Someone still has to do the laundry, load the dishwasher, unload it, make meals, make lunches, defuse Isabelle’s emotional freak-outs, persuade Madeline to stop pushing her sisters buttons,  read at bedtime, grocery shopping, dig out summer clothes and make kids try stuff on, run out and buy new summer clothes when stuff doesn’t fit, new sandals, new bathing suits. Lets add in I have lost a lot of weight and have absolutely nothing for summer. I need a new wardrobe but do not have the job to pay for it!! Then there is the dreaded bathing suit shopping for myself. I don’t even want to go there, but the kids seem to enjoy it when Mom is actually in the pool.

22 days friends. I have 22 days to study, write my exams and get everything needed organized, washed, packed and ready to go. I can do this.

This is going to be a great vacation. Once all the stress is done, I am going to be so pumped to get away for a while and just enjoy some time with my family.

The kids have all wisely used their birthday money this year. Each of them decided to purchase an iPod Shuffle and ear phones. So I will be loading them up with music and audio books for them to enjoy on the trip South. Thank you to the Grandparents, Great Grandparent(who we will need to call as I’m pretty sure he doesn’t read this blog) and to my Aunt S.B. The kids have written a note to you, I just have done a stellar job at forgetting to mail it!! Promise it will be in the mail by next week the latest!!

This vacation is gonna be awesome!! On top of that I will be finished school and hopefully be able to apply to graduate by the time we get home!! School was the easy part, next hurdle is writing the resume and finding a job!! If anyone has any great advice on that stupid “Objective” line I’d love to hear it!!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

