30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Here’s something I thought I’d never have to say

Leave a comment

The kids and I had been running errands for most of the afternoon. I had one last stop which was the grocery store. The girls had had enough of shopping and wanted to stay in the van and Aidan was happy to accompany me into the store.

It was a nice day. Not hot, but not cold either. I cracked the windows for the kids just for fresh air. I reminded them that they are NOT to open the doors for anyone!! I made them both look me in the eye and repeat it back to me.

I was about to close the van door and walk away when I thought I should perhaps say one more thing to them before leaving.

“Girls, do NOT sit in here and scream your heads of just for fun. It seems fun, but what is not fun is when a stranger thinks I’m a bad parent and just leaves my chidren in a car and phones the police.”

What irritates me is that I actually have to tell my children this. I should just be able to leave my kids in a vehicle, go into the store and come back without someone deciding I must be a careless parent. People are fun. The girls didn’t take me seriously at first. So I once again made them repeat out loud that they are not to scream their heads off for the two minutes I am gone.

Thankfully the girls behaved and there was no police officer waiting for me to come out of the grocery store.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

