30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

A weekend away helps mommy’s sanity

Leave a comment

5cc3ec629fc42ea22c0da028d1ec9021

I boarded the train Friday morning despite my kids pleas for me to stay home, or take them with me, and headed for London. I love my family very much. I love them so much that I need to leave them for a few days every once in a while. I have zero guilt leaving them too. Perhaps some would think that makes me a bad wife and mother. I disagree. If anything, it makes me a better wife and mother.

I have been under a lot of pressure lately. It feels like I have the weight of the world on my shoulders lately. I had to work really hard to get a head in my course so that I could enjoy most of March Break with the kids home and so I could have my weekend away with my friends.

At dinner tonight Isabelle said to me, “So Mom, tell me about your weekend! I want to know everything you did!” When I was done my explanation of our weekend Isabelle looked rather unimpressed. She seemed to be under the impression that my “slumber party” was going to be so much more interesting than what I had just told her.

I had a great time. It was so very nice to sit down and relax and enjoy hours of conversation mixed with watching hilarious youtube videos, going to a moive that was not animated (don’t get me wrong, animated movies are awesome!). For me this weekend was really about enjoying the time with my grown up friends and really just talking. I have such wonderful friends. We know we all have busy lives and we make time for each other as best we can. When we do get to come together we pick right up where we left off. I truly enjoy these times we have together and I really hope we continue to make time for each other.

I come home after two days and I am refreshed. I couldn’t wait to get home to my family. I feel like I’m ready to tackle just about anything and nothing can get me down. It really is important to make time for yourself and it’s okay to be selfish from time to time.

So to my friends, thank you for a great weekend. I look forward to the next one!!

 

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

