30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Bad dream

Leave a comment

The night before last Madeline came to my bedside in tears because she had a bad dream. I had been having such a good sleep myself that it was hard to lift my head off the pillow to see the time. Ugh, 2:45am. I sat up and gave Madeline a hug and told her the bad dream was over and she should try to go back up to bed to get more sleep.

We hugged a nice warm snuggle and then she turned and left. I barely had found my nice warm comfy spot when I could hear her crying. Up and out of bed and went upstairs. The sobs were getting louder. I thought I would make it up there in time that she wouldn’t wake her sister, however when I entered their room Isabelle was sitting on the edge of her bed. Damn, not fast enough at 2:55am.

I lay in bed with Madeline for a while as she quietly sobbed into her aging Lamby. I tried to reassure her that the bad dream was over and that it was just a dream and not real despite it feeling very real to her. I tried to get up to go back to bed a few times but she would place my arm in a death grip at my slightest movement.

After what felt like forever, I finally said that I needed to get back to sleep so I could be ready for the morning. Also suggested she too could use the sleep so not be be grumpy in the morning. I tucked her in. Gave her every stuffy I could find that had fallen out of her bed prior to the bad dream. Once settled in she came up with a brillant idea! I wish I had thought of this myself about 45 minutes earlier!! Madeline suggest that she go in Aidan’s room and check on him. She explained that during her dream, she and Aidan were playing. Aidan was either sitting on or near a vent. This vent opened up and he fell in. Poor Madeline, this would be scary for her.

So I agreed that idea was a good one. All the stuffies fell off her bed again and she crawled out and quietly went into his room. Upon her return, she told me she kissed him on the forehead and he seemed just fine.

I tucked her back in and we were both finally going back to bed around 3 am.

The funny thing about Madeline and Aidan is that most of the time it’s like they aren’t the twins in the family. Most often the girls are together and Aidan is off alone doing his own thing. At school Madeline and Aidan are in the same class. They do not interact with each other at all. The teacher says they don’t really even speak to each other.

That being said, they do have their twin connection at times. When one of them is hurt, and not just a small boo boo, but a shreiking in pain boo boo or a bad dream about their twin, then they really do come together. The other will be quite worried or sensitive to whatever the situation may be. It’s really neat to see how they can be so different and enjoy their own things but still come together when they need each other.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

