30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

The friendship battle

Leave a comment

Who is friends with who seems to be a constant battle in our house. Frankly, I am starting to really appreciate only having one sibling while I was growing up. I often sit back and let the kids try to sort out their shit before stepping in. Growing up, I didn’t have to share my friends with my brother very much. That being said, it was frustrating sometimes to “have” to let him hang out while my friend and I played. Looking back though, I didn’t really have to do that very often.

The kids are being invited to friends houses after school a lot lately. The trouble is they are so close in age and grade that they all seem to feel that when one of them is invited to a friends house, they should all be able to go. This is not the case little humans. Just because Madeline gets invited to (insert friends name here) house, does not mean you also have to be invited.

This problem is also presenting itself when it comes to birthday party invitations. Madeline was invited to a birthday party for a set of twins in her class. Isabelle apparently hangs out with them sometimes during recess. One of these twins told Isabelle she could come to the party. The other twin told Madeline that she did NOT WANT her sister to come to the party. Madeline of course has to get her underwear in a knot because Isabelle is happily announcing she was also invited. This of course is not the case. I have to then explain to Isabelle that unless you have an actual invitation in your hot little hands you are NOT invited.

You can imagine what came next….. A screwed up angry/sad face followed by highly outrageous emotional elephant tears. I apparently just broke her heart.

Our other problem is a friend across the street from us. This boy was in Isabelle’s grade one class last year. She has thus deemed him HER FRIEND. He had come over to call on her to play a few times during grade one. During this time he discovered Isabelle had a brother. Of course this boy and Aidan have just about EVERYTHING in common.

Isabelle now has her underwear in a huge knot because this boy comes over and specifically asks to only play with Aidan. I get it. Boys want to hang out with boys. I have no problem with this. Isabelle wants to play house and school and other girly related things. This boy thought that was alright last year, but now only wants to play guns and cars and other boy things.

You know what it all comes down to??? I can’t fucking win. It doesn’t matter what I say. I am getting some kind of screwed up cranky face from a kid when I try to explain how life works. The kids want to go to their friends houses, their friends want a chance to come to our house. What happens when we ask the friends over to our house, the spawn whose friend it is ends up having an all out meltdown…**COUGH COUGH MADELINE***to the point I have to tell that friend it’s best we try for a play date another day.

There are lots of times when I’m grateful that our kids happened 13 months apart from each other. Other times I smack my forehead and curse at my overactive ovaries!

Today we have a friend of Aidan’s coming over after school. The girls gave their best screwed up angry face this morning that none of their friends were coming over. Honestly I just can’t deal with the drama of the girls some times.

So to my brother Rob, like any sibling I’m sure I had moments of wishing you would just leave me alone. Now I am a much wiser(slightly older) adult and am lucky to have you as my brother.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

