30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

A day of firsts

Leave a comment

Today is Madeline’s first day back to school after surgery. She was very excited to get back to seeing her teacher and her friends. I hope she has a great pain free day. Madeline has been doing well in the pain department for the last two days. She has been able to sleep through the last two nights without needing Tylenol or Advil. Her inner ear pain seems to also be under control. Hooray!

Right about the time Madeline started to do a little better the universe must have felt off balance. I had been fighting a cold most of last week. It decided to push a little harder and my immune system lost the fight. I also seem to have developed a weird pain in my left foot.

I went to bed just fine, aside from a cold setting in, only to wake up Wednesday morning with a stiff left foot. I went and did all my grocery shopping and errands that day and noticed by the end of the day it was feeling worse. Thursday there was swelling and some bruising so I decided to go to a walk in clinic. This was weird because I know I didn’t sprain my ankle or bang it into anything. Off I went. Dr says it’s a bad sprain despite my telling her that I’ve sprained that ankle countless times and this pain is not the same. It’s not even in the ankle joint! It’s under!!

Friday morning I couldn’t put any weight on my left foot. I made a call to my family Dr to see if I could get in to see her. Thankfully she had an opening. If I haven’t said it before I really like my new family Dr. So she was surprised that the first Dr I went to did not order an x-ray so I was sent for one as well as an ultrasound and blood work.

I spent the entire weekend on crutches or with my foot up. The swelling is down today and I am able to bear some weight on the foot also. The Dr thinks that this could either be Gout or a bacterial infection in the joint. To be honest I’m rooting more for bacterial infection since it would be treated with an antibiotic and then it’s gone. My understanding of Gout is that it will be a problem for the rest of my life. I’d like to avoid that if possible.

So today is my first day off crutches. The husband was awesome and had lunches ready for the kids. I was able to get to the van and drive them to school and thankfully another Mom was willing to walk with them to their gate. After school will be interesting. I have told them to stay together and walk to the parking lot. I will park as close as possible so they see me and don’t have to walk through the parking lot to get to the van. While I’m good with short distances, I don’t feel ready to be walking to their gate and back.

Being on crutches has also taught me that I need to work out my upper body! Holy hell my arms and shoulders are burning!! That’s for another day!

Today I am going back to bed in hopes to rid myself of this stupid cold!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

