30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Is it back to school yet?

Leave a comment

I can’t be the only parent who feels that back to school should start September 1st. My children are raging at each other most of the day. Maddy has reverted to her three year old self and started biting and pinching today!!

It’s not that I am not trying to keep them happy. I am fucking tired of being cruise directory already! Our summer started off poorly with having to drive to and from Isabelle’s French camp for three weeks. Once that was over it felt like summer. Aidan went to my parents for a week and had a great time. The girls enjoyed ruling the roost (they do that regardless of Aidan’s presence) and having Mom to themselves.

Isabelle managed to catch a bit of a cold but it finally left after a few weeks of some awesome coughing. The kids all went to my awesome friends house for two nights and had a wonderful time! What a nice break, the husband and I went out to see a movie and enjoyed getting some things done around the house without kids underfoot. We went to Colasanti’s with the other grandparents and had a great day! They have been invited to friends houses for swimming and numerous playdates. We went to the movies, we’ve been out for dinners and other tasty treats! We have played at numerous parks etc.

The girls then had their trip to my parents for a week and poor Aidan came down with a fever and a cough. Day 4 of his fever and cough we managed to get in with our Pediatrician and she confirmed a thought I had dare not say out loud, Aidan has pneumonia. I had a feeling that this was what he had however had been hoping that I would be wrong. I don’t know how he managed to contract pneumonia in mid August but he did. He’s still coughing like crazy at times but it seems it is finally clearing out of is lung!

The girls returned home after a busy week at the grandparents. It was hard for them to have a few down days because Aidan was still too sick to do much. Despite their crankiness to not getting up and going anywhere I think they actually enjoyed the break. We baked muffins, we slept in, we stayed up late to have some movie nights with popcorn or ice cream. I still have to get them up one night to see the stars. It’s been so overcast at night lately I hope we can get this in before school starts.

One more week to go. The kids need to go back to school. They have had a great summer but are ready to get back to their schedule. I am so ready to get back to mine! I have three courses starting the day they go back to school. I am nervous about having three at one time. My semester ends right in the middle of when we were crazy sick last winter. I am crossing just about every body part that we won’t be that sick this year. I am willing to accept a little bit of sickness but I might pack up and move south if we go through what we went through last winter.

Isabelle will be seeing the Orthodontist this week. I believe she will be getting some teeth extracted just like her sister. Madeline has her tonsillectomy this month as well. Back to school is a welcomed time of year, but it is also crazy busy! I have a calendar in the kitchen and another in my office as well as on my phone. I am hoping to be organized and prepared for everything that is to come this year!

9 more sleeps to go!!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

