30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Is it bedtime yet?

Leave a comment

Today has been one of those days. When my alarm went off at 6 am I woke up enough to turn it off. Twenty five minutes later I woke up and realized I did not get up to take my thyroid med. So up I get and then immediately back to bed to sleep until 7:15 alarm goes off. I did not even care that the girls could be heard going to the basement to turn on the tv. Usually I tell them to get back to bed as 6:30 is too early for them to be up.

All was going well in the world after my alarm went off. Only hiccup was that Aidan had a high fever. So he stays home and girls will go to school. While brushing Madeline’s hair she is being cranky and crying a bit. She then starts crying more when her dumb mother who is pretend talking to her stuffed lamb suggests that her lamb even agrees that she’s being cranky.

Madeline is now crying harder because her lamb just said something mean at her….(her words) Of course it’s not cool to turn your child’s favourite stuffed animal against her. Duh. It’s now 8:43 and we should be at the school already but no big deal as we only live 1 minute away. I’m in the van on the phone with husband asking him a question when I see the girls playing on one of our rocks in the garden. Next thing I see is Madeline falling. I hang up on husband as she feel weirdly and into a small tree. I thought she may have poked her eye on the pokey tree branches. She’s of course crying loudly. I realize she has dirt all on the front of her legs and needs to change her pants.

Take her in to change. Take off her dirty pants to reveal cut knee that is bleeding. Stupidly say out loud to myself “Oh you are bleeding” to which Maddy replies in even louder crying. I’m certain neighbours think I am harming a child. Find Band-Aid and apply to bleeding knee. Get new pants and socks on Maddy. Put her jacket and shoes on and usher her out of house and into van. Drive to school. I thought Maddy might have a hard time saying goodbye at the gate after her morning mishaps however we hugged and on her way she went.

Aidan and I had a chill day at home. I spent just over an hour on my treadmill while he snuggled with his lamb and watched tv. It was getting close to the time I had to go pick Madeline up for the dentist and Aidan was just not doing well with his fever. Thankfully husband was able to come give a hand and stay with Aidan while I had Madeline at the dentist. Worlds fastest appointment. Molar coming in and giving her a hard time and she has a canker sore back there too. Fast forward to it being close to the time to go get Isabelle. I’m going to omit this part for Madeline’s sake. Let’s just say we had an accident minutes before I am to get Isabelle, had to run home drop her off and run back to school. Secured Isabelle who then tries to have a meltdown over a play date with Madeline’s best friend. That ended quickly when I reminded her of yesterday.

Sigh….at least our evening as gone well for now. Time to throw a kid in the tub while the other two quietly do something. The end result that I can’t wait for is bedtime. I don’t know what is going on these last few days. I am hopeful that Aidan will be able to go to school tomorrow and that the girls will have a good day at school also. I would also like for the wind to go blow like hell somewhere else in the province so that I can take them to the park tomorrow so they can burn off some energy.

Ah what a day….wonder what kind of crazy tomorrow will bring!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

