30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Birthdays!!

Leave a comment

Winter is always a busy time for our family. Add in the sickness we have been plagued with and I feel like I have just been living in a blur. We celebrated Isabelle’s 7th birthday quietly with our family and she had a birthday party with some of her friends from school on the weekend. Poor kid was sick on her actual birthday and barely made it through her requested dinner out at Boston Pizza. She managed to feel better in time to go bowling with her friends at her party. She and her friends all had a great time together!

Yesterday my babies turned 6 years old. When we found out we were pregnant again so quickly after having Isabelle I was a little worried how I would manage with a newborn and a 1 year old. I was worried that I wouldn’t be able to give Isabelle the attention she needed from me. We were living up in Tuktoyaktuk at the time and due to a few blizzards my scheduled ultrasounds kept having to be pushed back. I was 23 weeks along when I finally got to drive to Inuvik for my first(of many)ultrasounds. The nurses in Tuk had joked that since my baby belly grew fairly quickly that perhaps I was having twins. However we only ever heard one heartbeat and could feel only one baby. I did not think it was a funny joke to be having twins. I was already worried about having one baby I did not need to add the idea of TWO babies being in there!

We drove the ice road out of Tuk since the planes weren’t flying again because of bad weather. It took us about 3 hours to get there and I was so relieved to finally be there and to see our baby! As I lay on the bed talking with the Tech who had done all my ultrasounds while I was pregnant with Isabelle, we chatted about her and how she was doing. How I was worried about the idea of it being two babies but also saying that there was NO WAY it was two and I would just about die if there was two and that there was NO WAY I WAS HAVING TWINS!! All the while she calmly did her thing chatting to me about Isabelle and our new home in Tuktoyaktuk. When she was done she went out of the room to go get Ian and Isabelle. She handed me a box of Kleenex and backed away (this was likely due to my saying that I would probably punch someone if I was having twins…..) and said “I don’t know how else to tell you this” at which point my heart sank thinking something was wrong, “you are having twins, so congratulations I hope!”

She was so right to give me the box of Kleenex. I did not take this news well. The husband on the other hand had this huge grin from ear to ear! I cried and cried. I cried all the way out of the hospital and through the parking lot to our truck. I cried in the truck. I pulled myself together as we walked into my husbands office to share our news. As I was about to tell a friend in the office, she guessed it was twins and I just cried. Thankfully a another friend there came and just hugged me and told me everything was going to be fine.

6 years later, she was right. Everything is fine. It’s wonderful actually. Having our twins was a huge, HUGE, surprise. I would not change a thing though. Isabelle is a wonderful sister to Madeline and Aidan. They are wonderful to her. Sure we have our moments and there is a lot of screaming and tears and stomping of feet in our house but I can say I really love every moment of (the chaos) it!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

