30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

the holidays….

Leave a comment

I’m kind of glad the holidays are over. I’m also glad the kids are back to school. Of course that brings mixed feelings. I feel like I didn’t get to spend enough time with the kids over the holidays due to illness and studying. I think it’s safe to whisper that the kids are for the most part over their 4 months of sickness. The twins are doing well with their nasal sprays despite not really enjoying it. Isabelle is finally over her head cold and has hear hearing back. I’m glad they are all better however I know that we are likely not done with germs just yet.

I woke up Christmas morning feeling like several large trucks had run me over repeatedly. I managed to get through gift opening with the family before needing to go back to bed. Oh the joys of fever and chills for 2 days. With that came a very sore throat and an ear infection which later turned into a double ear infection.

Today I still can’t hear properly out of my ear. When there is a lot of noise in the room or many people talking, everyone sounds like robots. It’s hard to describe but it’s a weird feeling. There is still quite a bit of pressure in my ear which is driving me crazy! Ugh….

The kids had a great Christmas! They were excited to see what gifts Santa had brought them and tear into the ones we got them. I enjoyed Christmas as a kid and then wasn’t crazy about is the older I got. It’s so very different with your own kids. Our Elf returned this year and got up to no good as usual. The kids really enjoyed finding him every morning and were sad to see him go on Christmas Eve. Speaking of which I still need to clean up from his departure…..bad mommy.

I’ve changed the photo for the blog because it really does surprise me sometimes just how much the kids have grown up! The end of the holidays means the beginning of the birthday craziness. Isabelle will be 7 next month!! 7!!!! Then the kick in the pants will be the twins turning 6!!!! What a crazy ride it has been the last 7 years. It is so interesting to see these three change and grow over the years. It is becoming apparent that we will need to split the girls up soon. I know that Madeline is going to struggle with this quite a bit. Isabelle on the other hand can’t wait to have her own space, especially at night. Madeline likes to keep her up chatting and playing. Poor Isabelle is not a happy camper in the mornings… Aidan is my quiet little man most of the time. He can make his fair share of noise when he wants to. He also knows more about tanks, dinosaurs and a few other things probably better than boys his age and actually a lot better than I do!! I look forward to seeing what kind of hobbies he gets into as he grows up.

Another year done and a new one full of possibilities…I look forward to seeing what comes our way!

Happy New Year! (Sorry it’s a little late!!)

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

