30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Slow and steady

Leave a comment

That best describes my outing today. Last Tuesday I was discharged from the hospital as I had pneumonia in my right lung. I will be the first to say that I am a complete idiot for not going to the Dr. sooner. I knew I was sick, but didn’t really appreciate just how sick I was. This has taught me a pretty good lesson. I don’t want to spend any more time in a hospital because my poor tailbone cannot take those awful beds. The first night I had to basically sleep sitting up because my O2 sats were too low and laying down felt like someone was standing on my chest. Anyways, this week I am starting to feel better when moving about. Last week even just talking made me breathless. I get tired quickly and find myself taking 3 hours naps during the day. Normally I would love this but there is laundry, homework, housework etc. to be done. I’m doing what I can.

Today I went out for the first time alone. I kept my tasks small and short. I got my watch battery replaced as it was driving me crazy not to have an actual watch! Then I picked up some things for dinner tonight. It felt really good to be doing something normal again.

The twins are still battling their germs as well. Aidan was losing quite a bit of weight. This was scary for me as Aidan doesn’t have weight to loose!! I’m worried people are going to start thinking that we don’t feed him. It’s depressing when he takes his clothes off to get changed into pj’s. Thankfully he’s enjoying all the PediaSure he’s getting.

Madeline is still on a course of antibiotics. She has also started to gain some of her weight back as well. She’s doing better than Aidan in that department. However her cough is still a concern and she has been barfing almost every night since I’ve been home from hospital. She hasn’t had a fever though since we took her to the Dr. so that’s another plus.

I look forward to them both being healthy again. Thankfully Isabelle has stayed healthy through all of this!!

The children are all getting very excited about Christmas. Isabelle is practically jumping out of her skin with excitement for Sprinkles our Elf to return. Every morning when she wakes and every day after school she asks if he has returned. Hopefully she can wait a few more days because he will be returning December 1st.

I used to wait until after my birthday to put up the tree, however the kids really enjoy this time of year so we will be putting the tree up this weekend. I look forward to them helping to decorate the tree and the house. It’s so nice to see how much the kids enjoy this time of year!

We had report cards come home a few weeks ago and we are very proud of all three doing very well in school. Sometimes it’s hard to know how they are doing because when you ask them they tell us they didn’t do anything in class that day, or they can’t remember or that school is boring….. However, their teachers all had wonderful things to say about the kids and so we are very proud of them for doing so well!

Isabelle is also doing well with her piano lessons. She can be just like me at times and be shy and not want anyone around when she practices. I don’t think she knows it yet, but she will be a part of a recital in the New Year. Isabelle and Madeline are also both enjoying ballet this year. Their recital is coming up in December and both girls have asked to keep going with dance classes and possibly adding in another type of dance as well. Aidan enjoyed his karate lessons this year but not enough to want to keep it up. He also gave floor hockey a try but wanted to practice more at home before signing up for a session. I’m glad he’s willing to try out sports but I think it won’t quite be his thing. Currently Aidan is really into Lego and anything Military which makes his Daddy pretty happy. Isabelle also made her Dad’s day when she told him that she loves hockey!

School photos this year were awesome and I look forward to posting them for everyone to see! I am also working on another yearly photo book. It’s so neat to see all the changes over the past year and also makes me a little teary because I realize just how quickly the time is going!

It’s starting to feel like a good time to go have a rest before the hurricane, children, come home from school.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

