30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

First Day of School Part 1

Leave a comment

Tomorrow is Isabelle’s first day of school…..sort of.  She is beyond excited.  She has been telling me many times today that she has one more sleep until schooooooooooooool!  I’ve typed it like that because that’s how she draws out the word in a high pitched tone.  It’s obvious that this girl is ready to go and I’m proud of her feeling that way.  Tomorrow Isabelle starts in a small group of children.  She only goes tomorrow and then has the rest of the week off.  Part 2 of the “First Day of School” will be next Monday because then she will go to school every day for half a day.

I picked up her uniform skort today from my Moms, she was fixing it for us so it fit her better, and she was more than willing to try it on for me when I got home.  She did not want to take this skort off.  I had to practically peel it off of her and convince her to wear something else.  Tried to explain to her that she would want to keep this clean for her big day tomorrow.  She agreed finally.

We also discussed what she would like in her lunch box for her snack.  She has chosen yogurt and apple slices.  And she also asked for Apple juice in her thermos.  She has also told me several times not to forget to pack her snack.  I think she and I will get her lunch bag and put the yogurt in it tonight before she goes to bed, and later I will get the apple ready.  I don’t know how she is going to sleep tonight!

Speaking of sleep, the kids have been playing musical bedrooms again.  The kids are good sleepers.  Always have been and so I try not to complain much about their sleep habits as I know that a lot of my Mommy friends would probably like to beat me up because our kids have always slept so well.  However, there is one child in our house that likes to take her time falling asleep.  She also feels that since she is awake, everyone else in the room should be as well.  You who know my children well, probably know who I am talking about.  Those who do not, her name is Madeline.  Madeline is our one child who is going to keep us on our toes.  When the school secretary calls one of us, it will be because of Madeline.  When another parent phones us, it will be because of Madeline.  Anyways…..

Madeline likes to talk to her lamb, or mermaid barbie, or go though the drawers in the dresser, or the closet, or look at books in the dark, she likes to get out of bed for any reason possible.  If Madeline goes to bed at 8pm, she doesn’t actually go to bed until almost 9:30 some nights.  She has been rooming with Isabelle since we got the house ready to sell.   Isabelle can usually fall asleep despite Madeline’s attempts to keep her awake.  We’ve decided that it might be best for Isabelle to move in with Aidan while we are still here in Milton now that she is starting school.  Aidan is almost always asleep the second you close his door.  So we have put them together in hopes that they both get lots of sleep and Madeline and entertain herself in Isabelle’s room.  Isabelle already told me this morning that she slept much better being with Aidan.  So we will see how this goes and we will see what our next house bring us for sleeping arrangements.  I’d like a 3+1 home, but lately I’ve been thinking we may need a 4+1 home.  That’s a whole other story for another day.

The girls are playing nicely while Aidan has a nap, the breeze coming though the house feels good and thankfully today has been a better day than yesterday.  I will have a full report from Isabelle as to how her first day of school goes tomorrow.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

