30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

The Birds and the Bees

Leave a comment

So I’m going to do my best and try to 1. write this post really fast because I want to go to bed and 2. share with you a story that makes me giggle(and may cause me nightmares).

So there I was sitting out back watching the kidlets play in the pool and run around the backyard doing other various activities.  Isabelle comes and sits down beside me in her pink chair with a towel wrapped around her and she looks over to me and says “Mom, where did I come from?”  Isabelle has asked this question before and I always reply that she came from my tummy.  That always seemed to do the trick until today.  When I was then asked “but how did I come out of your tummy?”  I have always tried to be honest with Isabelle when she asks questions, but today I wasn’t too sure what to say.  So I tried this, “Mommy pushed really hard for a very long time and then you were born.”  I figured that should do the trick and we could move one.  Isabelle paused for a moment and then laughed and turned away to look at the pool.

I thought, okay so that seemed to do the trick.  Wrong. 

Isabelle:  So Mommy, you pushed really hard and then I came out of your mouth?
Me: (trying to keep a straight face and not say “Yep, that’s exactly how it happens!” in horror films maybe) Uh, no Isabelle not quite.
Isabelle: So how did I come out of your tummy?

So here I go, going to do my best to be honest without scaring the fucking shit out of a 4 year old because I don’t want to deal with those nightmares tonight.  I looked down at my darling 4 year old and said “Isabelle one day when you are older and the time is right, Mommy will talk to you about how babies come out of vagina’s.  But now is not that time.

Isabelle’s response:  HAHAHAHA  THAT’S FUNNY!!  AHAHAHAHAA

She literally then got up and got back in the pool and seems to have forgotten the whole conversation already.

It’s going to be so much easier to explain to Madeline that they just had to simply cut Mommy open to take her out of my tummy……oh wait that will probably also induce nightmares so let’s hope Madeline is content just knowing that at one time she was in my tummy.

 

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

