30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Oh Christmas Tree

Leave a comment

So last week I decided to put up the tree.  The decision came while the spawn were running around like crazy yelling and screaming and pushing and shoving each other, yelling at each other, swiping toys from one another and just generally making me miserable.  I decided I need to bring out the big guns to make the crazy end.  It’s amazing what a Christmas tree will do.

I nearly died just trying to haul this damn box out of the basement.  $*#)@*$)@(@!!! Wal-Mart and their cheapo boxes for the Christmas trees.  Damn tree nearly stayed in the basement as the box basically  disintegrated while I was carrying it up the stairs.  Next step, clear some space in the living room.  Otherwise known as put the spawn to work in order for there to be happiness in the next 10 minutes.  Space cleared.  Check.

In 3 simples steps tree is assembled and kids are already getting anxious to see what the tree is going to look like once it’s all unfolded.  Plug in all plugs and then plug into wall and listen…….It literally went from absolute chaos to silence.  The tree being lit up stopped them dead in their tracks and all three said “OOOOOOOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHH” at the same time.  Then I got “THANK YOU MOMMY!!!!  THANK YOU THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!  Does this mean SANTA IS COMING!!!?????  THANK YOU THANK YOU!!!!!  I love the Christmas tree Mommy!!”

I have not yet decorated the tree.  I don’t know about you, my these three can’t keep their hands off of anything even when they are told not to touch it, so I will be decorating just in time for Santa’s arrival.  I also have to clean out from under the tree so he can have a place to put presents.  It’s filling up with toys we already have and some clothes from the kids.  They like to strip down to their bare butts just before going upstairs for bed.  They have called this activity, are you ready for this one?  They call it ‘Butts”!  Mommy can we be “butts” now?  Isabelle will ask ever so nicely.  I trust the girls a bit more than I do Aidan at this point.  Maddy is a little closer to being potty trained than Aidan.  So we try not to encourage Aidan to take part unless we know he won’t have to go for a while.

Anyways, back to Christmas.  The kids are very excited and seem to know very well what happens at Christmas.  I enjoy this part.  It’s so fun seeing how excited they get about these kinds of things.  Isabelle has her very own Christmas party to go to tomorrow night.  It’s for her Dance class, they are putting on a party, decorating things and having pizza and playing games etc.  I know she will have a good time.  She’s been talking about it since finding out about it at her last class.

Not much else is new around here.  The kids are disappointed by the lack of snow.  I’m not so worried about the snow myself, but I do wish the rain would stop.  It’s so miserable it’s hard to be in the Christmas spirit some times.  I still have yet to wrap gifts and get one last gift.  I’m sure I will get it all done but Christmas has certainly arrived much faster than I was expecting.  I was thinking about decorating the tree but I’d rather just sit here and finish my cup of tea.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

