30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

What a weekend…birthday party…time change…

Leave a comment

I’m so tired from the weekend I don’t even know where to start! Grandpa and Grandma D and Auntie M arrived Friday afternoon. We had a nice visit and dinner before calling it a night. The kids were very excited to have Auntie M stay at our place. That night I made lunch for Sat as well as the cupcakes the the party Sat night. In the morning we got up and headed over to where the Grandparents were staying for the weekend and took advantage of the pool. It’s been about a year since we did this last. Last time Aidan hated the pool while Isabelle and Madeline had a great time. This time, Madeline hated it while Aidan was okay with it as long as you talked to him and Isabelle still had a great time.

After swimming we headed back to our place to have some lunch and so the kids could have a nap. Apparently the kids were the only ones who napped that afternoon. Auntie M and I went out and did some shopping while the others rested. Grandpa and Grandma E arrived and Auntie M and I returned home shortly after. We got the kids up and opened presents. It was really fun to see all three kids just having a blast tearing into their gifts. They had a great time and love all their new toys. However this means we need to sort out some of the old toys and give them a new home.

We then had a very tasty pizza party. The kids all sat at their little table while the adults had the big table. After pizza it was time to decorate our own cupcakes. I think the kids at more of the candy than the cupcakes. Despite being over tired, they managed to burn off their sugar highs by staying awake until 8pm. The next day we all enjoyed the small sleep in we got to have, however I was completely unprepared for the time change. I only found out about it before going to bed the night before and oh how Sunday came too quickly. We dragged ourselves out of bed and over to the hotel for lunch with Grandpa and Grandma D and Auntie M before they had to hit the highway and head home.

The kids stuffed their faces, literally. Breakfast was so good that Maddy let out a big burp followed by a nice stream of vomit. Nothing like puke to encourage you to leave a big tip!! We said our tearful goodbyes, weekends are just never long enough for good visits! We took the kiddies home and I think I’ve been asleep since!! I can hardly focus on small tasks. I’m tired. I know it will get better and I’ll get used to it. It’s strage that before kids time changes never affected me. Now is a different story.

These days my schedule can’t take a single hit, if anything changes for us it will wreck us for about a day. Somtimes it’s alright if we are doing something outdoors or that will tire the kids out. However, if it doesn’t involve the kids much, it’s just Mommy and Daddy who re to tired to do anything. The kids have hardly slept this nap time todya. I’m just hitting my sleepy wall. I’m going to go upstairs tell tehm one more time to be quiet and try to sleep. And then try to get some sleep myself.

It was great to see everyone again, we missed the ones who were missing but hope to see them again soon. Thank you everyone for coming and thank you for the gifts, the kids are having a wonderful time playing with them all! Must do my best not to fall asleep in this chair….again. It’s taken me over an hour to write this due to some accidental cat naps.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

