30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Sickness

Leave a comment

Well *I* has some kind of sickness.  He emailed me before I even got up yesterday morning saying he was on his way home from work.  When he got home he looked like death.  So I promptly sent him upstairs as to keep the germs away from the kiddies.  He’s been in bed since yesterday morning and I’ve only briefly seen him to make sure he isn’t actually dead and to replenish his beverage and cracker supply.

The kids know he’s home, but often forget and ask when he’s coming home.  I have to remind them he’s sick, upstairs in bed, trying to get better so he can spend time with them.  What a week to get sick.  I had plans to be in the office this week for two of his days off and then on Saturday I had plans with a bunch of women I’ve never met in person before!  I really hope that Ian feels better tomorrow or is at least better come Friday night, because while I don’t mind missing out on going to the office, I will be really bummed if I have to miss out on Saturday.

A bunch of us ODIV wives decided that it would be nice to actually meet in person rather than only talk to each other over Facebook.  You’ve been great Facebook, don’t get me wrong, however human interaction is always better I think.  So we have the day planned for some papmering, shopping, dining and of course drinking!  Should be lots of fun and I hope to be there and healthy too!

Being a single parent is taking it’s toll, I fell asleep sitting up for about 15 minutes today.  Thankfully the chldren managed to not destroy the house while I was being a bad parent.  The sad part is we had been playing blocks and I was sitting there with them all building towers and knocking them over.  Next thing I know, I’ve got a sore neck and it’s eerly quiet in my house.  Maddy was at least watching tv and Isabelle and Aidan were playing nicely in their pretend kitchen. 

I am always very thankful for those moments because I know that even when I am paying attention the kids can always find something to get into that they are not supposed to.  For instance the other day Isabelle innocently enough asked me if she could get her juice out of the fridge.  I said “sure, go for it.”  So off she goes.  A little while had passed and I realized that she was not back yet.  So I called out to her and she came running.  And it was the run of someone who was doing something they shouldn’t.  What really gave it away is that she also did not have her juice!

She didn’t have anything in her hands so I didn’t think anything of it.  I know that while there are things she can get into in the kitchen, all the really bad stuff is either locked away or up high.  A little while later it’s time to make lunch.  I go to the kitchen and there on the counter is a pile of white powder, next to it is the Kernels Flavour shaker with it’s lid off.  Isabelle made herself a nice little pile of white cheddar powder on the counter.  So now I’m out of white cheddar flavoring for my popcorn, but again it could have been way worse!

Recently I’ve also found, crayon on the fridge, crayon on the windows of the living room.  The twins love to play with pop cans, so I’ve found pop all over the main level of the house.  Today someone went in the fridge and brought out a jar of bbq sauce to the living room.  I didn’t know about this until Madeline hit Isabelle in the head with it!  Nice.

Hitting and biting.  Is a HUGE problem these days.  Madeline is the worst. I don’t know what it is inside her but she just loves to hit.  Sometimes I think she gets to carried away in playing roughly and she will sometimes hit by accident.  Other times she means it.  For instance when someone (aka Isabelle) takes a toy that she was playing with.  Madeline will have no problem hauling off and hitting Isabelle.  Isabelle of course loves to take the poor me role seriously, but we give her little attention for that one.  She’s got to learn she can’t just take toys, however Madeline needs to learn anotoher way to express herself when a toy is taken from her. The other problem we have is Maddy bites.  And bites hard.  This is done purely out of anger for the most part.  We went though this phase a while ago and then it seemed to die off.  Well it’s back with a vengance and I’m running out of ideas on how to deal with this.  So a shout out to all my Mommy friends who had to deal with biting, what did you do to stop it?

Well I’m an hour into nap time for the kids and I’d like to put my feet up and enjoy some lunch without being asked to have some of it.  And I need to figure out what’s for dinner.  It can be hard to make dinner for just the kids since I’m not going to make big meals when Ian is not able to eat.  Tonight might be a breakfast for dinner kind of night.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

