30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Wow, that was so not worth all the effort

Leave a comment

So Isabelle has been after me to get outside these last few days.  And since it was nice and sunny today with some wind I figured it was a good day to venture out.

Step 1: strip all 3 kids, change diapers

Step 2: after all three have run away from me in diapers, time to call them all back.

Step 3: grab closest giggling toddler who thinks it’s cute to come close but not quite close enough to mommy.

Step 4: dress 1 toddler, put socks and shoes on

Step 5: repeat steps 3&4 until all three toddlers have clothes, socks and shoes on.

Step 6: repeat steps 3 though 5 but this time dressing them in hats, coats and mitts.

Step 7: get myself a jacket, shoes, sunglasses, keys, cell phone

Step 8: let kids out of holding pen (aka gated living room) *it’s best to have your shoes on at this point because your toes will get trampled by excited toddler herd.

Step 9: open door to the outside and be sure that the herd of toddlers are not mowed down by herd of dumb labs.

Now that we are outside, Isabelle decides that we should all go for a walk.  I agree it’s a nice day and we can go for a walk since our lawn seems to be a soupy mess after our thunderstorm the other day.  That’s right, I said it.  We had thunder the other day.  Yes, it’s November.

So I grab the stroller since I’m not prepared to carry 3 children back to the house if needed.  Isabelle can walk the block, so I don’t bring her seat either.  Today I let Isabelle decide which way we were going to go.  She chose the way and we got about 20 steps when Madeline decided she had gone far enough.  She lay down on the sidewalk and said “No.”  I stopped and told her to come along.  To which she replied “No.”  She then sat up.  Isabelle and Aidan walked back towards her and encouraged her to get up.  It was sweet. 

So we are walking again and probably got 10 steps before Madeline gave up again.  Once again laying herself down on the sidewalk.  This time I tried just walking further down the street leaving her there, but she wouldn’t budge and I couldn’t get Isabelle and Aidan to leave her.  So I went back and got her.  Put her in the stroller, then Aidan wanted in and so did Isabelle.  I told Isabelle she could help me push the stroller since it was so windy I was having such a hard time.  *I wasn’t really but this was the only way I was going to get Isabelle to believe she was doing something awesome and I needed her help.*

So we made it around the block.  And back to Isabelle’s house as she calls out to it when the house comes into her sight.  We get into the back yard, get the twins out of the stroller and they all wanted in the house.  No one wanted to be outside.  The front yard was drier so I thought we might play out front for a while, but no.  They were done.

I think our time outside was about 20 minutes.  It takes me longer just to get them ready!!!!  Everything comes off a lot faster than it goes on!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

