30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Mommy, Isabelle cup of milk please!!

Leave a comment

I’m barely down the stairs and in the kitchen and orders are being barked at me.  The twins are begging for their bottles and Isabelle is wanting a cup of milk, the dogs are looking at me to go outside.  What about me?  Who is going to make me a cup of coffee?  Who is going to make my breakfast?  Oh wait…that’s on me too.

Today was a trying day.  The trouble with three kids and being a mom who would rather play than do house work, is the kids think you are their play toy.  By the end of the day I don’t want anybody to touch me.  I’ve been jumped on and sat on and hugged and snuggled (don’t get me wrong I love all this) and run into, feet stepped on, hair pulled and stepped on, tickled, climbed on…you get my point.  But by the end of the day I don’t want to be touched.  I feel so over stimulated that I want to smack the next thing that comes near me.  I love playing with the kids but being their jungle gym is taking it’s toll on me.  I really hope the rain stops before it gets really cold because at least then they could go outside and climb on their actual climbing toy.

Also we are making a more assertive attempt at potty training Isabelle.  She has her moments when things go really well.  For instance, this morning when she got up, she sat on the potty and we had success.  So a few hours later we sat on the potty again but this time nothing, which is fine we will try again in a little while.  Then while sitting on the couch she tells me her tummy hurts.  I told her she could lay down for a bit if she wanted.  She rested her head on the pillow for a few minutes but sat back up and said she felt better.  Next I see she is moving to the floor to sit.  Again nothing new, she does this all the time.  What 2 year old do you know that stays in one place for very long.

Isabelle looks at me and says “potty mommy sorry”.  I asked her why she was sorry.  She said “pee mommy sorry”.  That’s when I notice the big wet spot on the couch cushion and now that she is standing I see her bum is totally soaked and so is the spot on the floor she was sitting on.  So I make sure not to make a big deal of it but she’s obviously feeling badly for what happened despite my best efforts.  I felt so bad for her.  She kept telling me she was sorry.  I tried my best to explain that accidents happen.  She finally forgot about it around lunch time.

Well I would love to post more, but it’s late and I’m tired and I need to try to fall asleep before the big guy starts snoring.  I hope this rain goes away.  I’m tired of having the kids cooped up all day long.  It takes it’s toll on me and the kids.  I’m running out of new ideas to keep them entertained.  Good sleeps to all.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

