30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

The Zoo!

Leave a comment

Yesterday we packed up the kids and went to the Toronto Zoo!  We managed to arrive just after 9am.  Pretty good for us as we are almost always later than we plan…..you try having three kids running around in circles while you try to get them to eat breakfast quickly, get dressed, get shoes and jackets on, find hats and get them all out to the van and buckled in!  It’s a zoo almost, well more like circus really.

So  just when I thought we might not actually get comments on our stroller due to the overwhelming amount of double strollers and families with lots of kids, we still got stopped quite a few times so that people could gawk at us.  One lady at least had the same stroller as us and was curious to see one with the third seat on it as they were going to have to get the third seat soon also.  She didn’t look pregnant but I wasn’t about to ask.  Good rule of thumb, unless they are holding a new born don’t ask when they are due!  We chatted with her about the stroller for a few minutes and then we were on our way to find some animals.

I believe the first comments from Isabelle upon seeing any animal or fish or bird or whatever was “ooooooooohhhh wow!”  I don’t think I could ever get tired of hearing that.  The twins on the other hand I think had a good time, but will certainly enjoy the zoo more next year.  What really impressed *I* and I was that Isabelle managed to walk around at least 70% of that zoo!  We were both so surprised that she lasted as long as she did.  We did impose mandatory breaks at times because we wanted her to have fun and not be too tired.  I think she was asleep in the van before we even left the parking lot!

We had a really great time.  I think we will purchase a pass for next year and go though out the summer.  They have a really neat splash area for the kids which I’m sure Isabelle will just have a blast in and hopefully so would the twins.  This time of year is nice to go, but not as much was open and when I found myself to be hungry for lunch but no where to eat in the middle of the zoo, that was a bit disappointing.  I thought there would have been a few more of the bigger animals too but at least we got to see most of them. 

I’m having a bad day today.  It’s just one of those days for me and as hard as I try to not take it out on the kids it feels as though they are just trying to find that button to push.  It’s not their fault and it’s not even mine.  I’m allowed to feel this way it’s just too bad they have to be around for it.  I think that when *I* walks though that door tonight, I’m walking out of it.  I just need some space.  Sure I could shut my self into my room, but I can still here what’s going on.  I need to let off steam and just be alone. 

Nap time is here.  The kids are down.  I’ve just put Isabelle down for the second time and now I’m starting to feel like it’s my turn to get some rest.  I’m so thankful we had a great day yesterday.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

