30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Is it wrong?

Leave a comment

That I absolutely look forward to my kids nap times?  I always seem to have friends and even strangers asking me how the kids all sleep.  Sometimes I think I should lie to these people.  Isabelle started sleeping though the night by 3 months of age.  The twins too a bit longer but were about 4.5 to 5 months.  And the three of them used to sleep twice a day for 2 hours.  The next question I get asked is what is their bedtime.  The twins go down by 7:30pm.  Isabelle anywhere between 8 and 8:30.  We let her stay up a bit to feed the dogs, read some books or have a bit more play time outside.  The kids all get up around 7am but I don’t often find myself out of bed until 7:30 or 8am.  They are all happy to wait.  They hang out in their rooms until I come and get them.  I’m lucky.  I know that.  I don’t show off how great my kids sleep because I know a lot of my friends have had a hard time with their kids.  But on the other hand we worked hard to get our kids to sleep.  It wasn’t easy, but we did what works for us.

While bedtime is nice, I prefer naptime.  The mornings and part of the afternoon are so busy and chaotic that it’s nice to have the three hours to myself.  Whether I’m doing something for the house, or reading a book or watching tv, sleeping, playing Wii.  I love their nap time.  Right now, the twins are most likely either talking to each other or sleeping.  Isabelle is up in her room making a lot of noise moving around.  She will eventually give in and go to sleep.  Doesn’t matter to me what they are doing so long as they are safe and I can have my free time.  Oh free time.

We bought Isabelle and the twins an outdoor climber/slide toy.  So far Isabelle loves it!  The first word out of her mouth this morning was “slide!”  The twins think it’s okay, but they aren’t quite ready to be climbing or sliding on it yet.  This time next year it will be perfect for them.  I set up the sandbox nearby because the twins like to play in that and Isabelle can slide to her hearts content.

I think I forgot to post about our trip to Springridge Farm here in Milton.  Isabelle’s Auntie and soon to be Uncle were visiting for the weekend.  I decided that we should spend the day out on the farm.  They have a giant sandbox for the kids to play in, tractor rides, some animals, pony rides, corn maze and a neat cafe with gift shop.  Isabelle went on a her first pony ride and loved it.  I was so proud of her because she seemed a little leery of the idea at first. *I* went with her and she giggled the entire time.  And when the ride came to an end, she said “again”.  We went and had lunch and before leaving the farm, *I* took her around again.

Well time to catch up on emails and facebook.  Check out the photo site or facebook as I have posted some pictures.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

