30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

There once was…errr still is….a pile of laundry…

Leave a comment

I just can’t bring myself to do it.  It’s one of those chores that I will put off and put off until there is about 3ft of laundry on the floor.  And then I get so sick of having to sort though that every morning just to find the kids some clothes.  And despite that I hate doing that, I still don’t put the laundry away!  Doing the laundry is the easy part, it’s the putting away I obviously struggle with.  And the worst times for this is when you come home from being away and there is always so much to do.

Ugh.  I know it’s there and here I am.  Of course writing to the blog is way more exciting than sorting though clothes.  The kids are starting to wake, but I’m not ready yet.  Not ready to put up with yelling and screaming and the throwing of toys just yet.  I’m going to get my full three hours of quiet.  The only reason I know they are upstairs is because I decided to bring pinky upstairs to write.  I got tired of sitting on the hard kitchen chair and I didn’t feel like sitting in the living room.  I tend to fall asleep quickly on the couch and I’ve almost dropped pinky a few times.  *I* would not be impressed at my request for another new laptop.

The sun finally came back and that’s a relief.  The kids are always happier when it’s sunny.  Means more time spent outside rather than cooped up.  They enjoy their sand/water table, but I’ve been debating lately on cleaning it up and trying to sell it and get just a sandbox table.  The combined table doesn’t have a big enough sand spot.  The kids tend to fight over the space and never mind that sand goes everywhere except in it’s little space.  They like the water table, but they have their pool.  So when they want to splash can cool off that’s where they go.  They seem to love the sand part more so hopefully I can find something since we’re already into summer and some of the summer toys are selling out fast.

I’m also looking at a little tykes climb and slide toy for Isabelle.  She played on one at our cousin’s house on the weekend and she loved it.  She climbed up and got on the slide and eventually was sliding down without daddy being near the bottom.  Part of me says to wait until next summer when all three kids can wait.  And perhaps save up some money for a bigger one anyways.

Today while outside, Isabelle wanted to go pick a flower (dandelion) that was in the yard.  I said sure but be sure to watch out for dog poop.  So the whole time she was on the grass she walked around saying at the top of her lungs I might add “Watch Out Poop!!”  I couldn’t help but giggle.  She made sure to tell me that she did not step in any poop when she returned to the deck.  Madeline tried walking on the grass again today, but I think with her new sandals and the length of the grass it’s just too hard for her to talk on.  She probably would have been better in bare feet.

Aidan is still not walking.  He will get up on all fours and “walk” across the deck sometimes.  He looks really funny doing it, but my guess is that his knees are getting pretty sore from all the grit of the sand on the deck.  Aidan can walk well holding on to things and he will stand without help for a few seconds before sitting down on his bum.

I’ve been able to teach the twins to go down the stairs.  They are still learning, but I think I’m very close to not having to carry them unless they want or needed to be carried!  I have waited a long time for this day!!  I’ve forgotten myself a few times and carried them down.  I always get to the bottom and realize that I should have had them do it.  Ah well.  I’m sure I’ll miss that part of our routine once it’s gone.

Well I’m going to finish this up and enjoy my last 20 minutes.  Get myself organized for dinner and then it’s time to get the little monsters up and outside for more fresh air.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

