30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Terrible 1’s and 2’s

Leave a comment

This has been an interesting week for me.  It has tested me in my patience, my ability not to laugh at my children right in front of them, tested the ways I want to discipline my children, tested my abilities to tune out my children.  How do I feel I did?  Well it’s Friday, I haven’t given any of them away, they are all clothed, happy, fed and loved.  I think I passed.  I guess really when you think about it, each day is a test with these guys.  They are learning so much every day and learning to figure out just where their boundaries are and of course where mine are.

I love them so much but I could seriously bang my head against the wall some days.  Don’t worry, I know it gets better and I’m not really down in the dumps about it.  It’s just frustrating.  It’s hard being the ref to three little children who all want to go off in different directions or have the same toy right now this very second!

The clash seems to be with the girls lately.  Isabelle wants her own space and her own things and for her sister to keep her little fingers off them.  Madeline is in love with her big sister, and she wants nothing more than to be like her and to go where she goes and do exactly what she does 95% of the time.   However, there are times that Madeline will be playing with Aidan quite contently away from Isabelle and then next thing you know Isabelle is barging in between them stealing the toys they were so quietly playing with.  As much as Isabelle doesn’t want them playing with her, she doesn’t want them to be happily playing either.

There are the rare moments that all three can play together quite nicely and for some length of time.  I really look forward to more of these moments and as well as them increasing in length of time.  The weather has been so crappy lately that we have been stuck in doors.  And any time a door would open to the outside, all three kids would go racing towards it!  That’s how badly they all wanted out.

Thankfully today was nice and we were outside the whole morning.  Came in for lunch and then played inside until nap time.  We will go back out again after they wake up.  They seem to play well outside as they have a bit more space and a few other things like the pool and sand table to keep them all occupied with something.  Today Madeline was jealous that Isabelle was down off the deck and playing around the other side of the house.  So she walked over to the stairs, sat down, went down the stairs on her hands and knees and then proceeded to walk over to Isabelle.  She only fell down 3 times!  I was so proud of her, she even managed to step over the hose three times without falling.  I am most thankful for this because where the hose was there is also quite a bit of mud.

Aidan was not to be left behind so I brought him over to where the girls were.  He then took off onto the grass which was nice and wet as I had just been watering it earlier while they were on the deck.  He was headed straight for some dog poop so I grabbed him up and put him on the deck again.  The girls made their way back as well.  We played some more on the deck and then it was time for lunch.

It’s currently nap time here and I’m enjoying the quiet.  I myself will head up soon for a much needed nap.  I thought I’d write here first and then do a few other things before heading up.  This way by the time I get up there the kids are asleep enough they don’t hear me come upstairs.  I hope the weather stays nice so that we can all enjoy our weekends!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

