30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Getting tired of the mess

Leave a comment

I’m not generally a messy person.  My mother is laughing at this right now.  However, yes my bedroom growing up always looked like a laundry bomb went off in it.  But once I moved out on my own and lived with friends or even complete strangers, I could manage to keep my mess to myself.  I had smaller rooms so it was also harder to be messy in a tiny space.

Then I moved in with *I*.  He is not a clean person.  Well it’s not like he’s unclean, he just doesn’t seem to be able to pick up after himself much.  And not that I want to start a fight in my marriage, but I was not like this until we lived together.

I don’t know what it is now, but we just can’t seem to be tidy.  We just can’t seem to find homes for things, or put things back where we got them from.  I hate hate hate that my love seat is a laundry hamper.  I hate hate hate that the toys are always all over the floor at night when the kids aren’t around.  I hate hate hate that I can never see my kitchen counters despite the fact I clean them off on a regular basis.

I know I’m a mom to three very busy little kids and that keeps me very busy and with not much time to do much else.  And I’ve personally decided that since I have this opportunity to stay home with my kids, I’d rather spend the time with them than cleaning everything up all the time.  It’s not that I don’t want a clean home, but you only get to have your babies once and if we are making the decision to not have more, I want to spend every second with my “babies”!

Sometimes I think part of my problem is that for the longest time we have been living in homes that we can’t really put our “mark” on so to speak.  While you are more than welcome to paint force housing, you have to paint it back to the boring white it was before you changed it.  Well I am not interested in proving the force with free paint.  What do they ever give me?  Nothing.  So here we are in our own home and the kids even helped to start tearing down the little bit of wallpaper, but we still haven’t painted.  We just don’t have the time or the energy.  So it’s hard to feel settled or like I’m at home or in a place I truly care about because I can’t get anything done.  I think I’m in a rut.  I think today’s weather has something to do with it too. 

I had wanted to get the kids out but it looked like it was about to rain any minute for the last 6 hours!! I hate that, because it makes you too afraid to go out.  At least now it is actually raining.  But that means we really can’t go out.

I’ve been slightly neglectful of my blog lately.  I do apologize.  It’s just been busy I suppose or I just haven’t had much inspiration to write.  A bit of exciting news is that Madeline is walking!  She will still crawl, but she has made greater attempts to walk today.  She walked from the stairs to the ottoman in the living room, which if you know where that is in our house, you know it’s a good distance for a new walker.  She’s very proud of being upright and you can see it as she gets very excited when going somewhere.

Aidan is doing his best to push and walk with the corn popper or the other walking toy we have.  I think it will still be a little while for him as he’s got my loose joints.  Even if it is still a while longer, that boy can crawl fast.

We bought the kids a kiddie pool for the back yard.  They enjoy sitting in there and splashing away on the hot days.  Today is not going to be one of those days.  Hopefully the weather picks up and we can get back outside again.

I’m going to get some reading done for my course.  I will try to post something more this week or at least for sure something next week.  I’ll keep you updated on the twins walking also.  I am doing my best to get some photos on the private photo site, however I do post more regularly to facebook.  I am debating as to whether or not I am going to keep the private site.  It costs money every year to renew, and facebook is free and I can just send a link to anyone that doesn’t have facebook if they want to see the photos.  I’ll let you know what I decide.

Maybe the cleaning fairy will come while I’m reading!  She will see I’m busy and just wave her wand!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

