30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

On the road again

Leave a comment

We went to Windsor for a few days.  Packed up the van, the kids and the dogs and away we went.  All was going well, the kids were in and out of sleep and fussy here and there but for the most part really good.  Ian and I happened to be chatting when I heard a liquid splat sound.

Me to Ian: I think Isabelle just puked.

Ian: What?

Me to Ian: Yep, Isabelle just barfed.

Isabelle to me: Pooked.(Isabelle language for puke)  Mommy!

So we pulled over on the side of the highway.  I got in the back and helped her get out of her barf covered jacket, shoes and pants.  She sat up front while I did my best to clean up her car seat.  For some one who doesn’t handle vomit well I think I did a pretty good job of putting on my brave face and cleaning it up as best I could.

We got everyone back in their seats, dogs back in the van and made it the rest of the way there without any more incidences of vomit.  On the way home Isabelle got a dose of Gravol before we left.  It worked well.  Isabelle however now has a terrible cold.  My heart really does break when one of the kids is sick.  You know they are hurting or just feeling crappy but there isn’t much you can give or do for them.  Isabelle has a very sore throat.  Her voice is all crackly and her nose just won’t stop.  Today has been a “Treehouse” day.  I normally won’t let Isabelle watch much tv other than some of her fav shows.  But in order to keep her planted on the couch it’s been on all day.  I can’t wait for some adult tv time tonight.

On a side note:  To the woman at Costco who stood in my way so she could stare at my kids and tell me how busy my house must be and oh how do I managed with twins yadda yadda yadda, guess what there is a third child and yes I’m busy but that’s life and I love my kids and I like to shop so don’t stand in my way next time!!

Rant over. 

It’s 4pm but it’s still quiet upstairs.  I’m going to try and see if I can just get the twins up and let Isabelle sleep a bit longer.  I think she could use it for sure.  I wanted to take them all for a walk today, but this is the sickest I’ve seen Isabelle with a cold so today is an inside day which is too bad considering how nice the weather is.

Hope you all are able to get out and enjoy this beautiful weather!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

