30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Happy Birthday!!

Leave a comment

Madeline and Aidan turned 1 today!!  Can’t believe all my babies are growing up so fast!  In the beginning it felt like it was going to take forever for them to grow and get to this stage, but now we are here and there is no slowing down.

I have found myself lately cleaning up some of the babies things.  Putting more clothes away that don’t fit.  I found a newborn sized diaper the other day and sighed since it will probably be the last newborn diaper in this house.  I gave it to Isabelle to use on her cabbage patch baby.  I’ve been finding lots of little tiny baby socks around also.  I never had them when I needed them!  Now they are everywhere in my house!  I’m washing up and putting away the bottles Aidan used when he had colic.  Soon I’ll be packing up all the bottles as I hope to get the twins on sippy cups within in the next month or so.  We are also going to be able to start saving some money soon once we get them switched over to milk.

I’ve never done this before.  Isabelle just gave up her bottle one day.  That meant she wouldn’t drink formula or milk.  Took us ages to get her back on to milk.  The twins however so far so no signs of just tossing the bottle aside.  I’m nervous to try to wean them from milk during the day.  They eat, Madeline would eat all day if she could, however they also still really like and want their bottle.  I hope we can start to phase this out as they get more of their teeth and start eating more solids.  It’s going to be crazy when all three are eating the same things.  I might be able to stop feeling like a short order cook all day long.

And once Isabelle stops this “I don’t eat anything unless it’s got PB&J or cheese on it”, life will be so much easier.  I’m getting so tired of making meals and she just won’t eat.  I can’t wait for this to change.  Soon we will be able to put away the high chairs and get two more booster seats.  I can’t wait for these bulky chairs to be gone.  I’m not sure I’ll wait much longer.  Both twins sit really well and eat really well so I probably don’t need to worry about the high chairs much longer.

Come this time next year, Isabelle and Madeline will be sharing a room and Aidan will be on his own.  I wonder if he’ll miss having another person in there with him or if he won’t even notice.  Guess you’ll have to stick around for another year to find out.

How I feel about being a mom to three under three.  Life is crazy but I can’t see it any other way.  I love my kids and each one of them is a blessing.  Yes, things would have been slightly easier if we had only had one baby but then we wouldn’t have Madeline or perhaps Aidan.  All three of them are special to us.  They each have their on personality and know how to show it.  I have a routine and I follow it like my life depends on it.  It really does.  If I’m behind or too early it makes a huge difference on how my day is going to play out.  I keep my routine because I’m the one who has them all day long and I know what works for us.  I enjoy my 2 hours of quiet in the afternoon.  I’d still prefer it if Isabelle was taking a morning nap, but I also know that I think she needs that time with me to make sure that she knows I love her lots.  Isabelle is becoming a sensitive little person and very aware of life and what’s around her.  I can’t watch Baby Story when she’s around because the crying newborn makes her sad.  She was sad and upset when Igglepiggle got dirty.  She was upset seeing the Duggars new premie baby.  She doesn’t like to get her hands dirty.  Informs us immediately of any “boogies” in her nose.  Wants you to hug her baby when she falls out of her stroller after one of the twins shakes her out.

Madeline is finally starting to “talk” back to Isabelle.  Isabelle tends to be a bit bossy from time to time…who knew?  Maddy has finally found her voice and will bark back at Isabelle.  She can climb the stairs now(supervised).  She’s getting another tooth on the bottom, this will make 5.  He hair is growing and is still brown.  Her eyes have turned greenish, getting very close to hazel.  I don’t know how much she weighs at the moment or how long she is.  I will update that next month after their dr appointment.  She loves food and will eat almost anything.  However if she eats something she doesn’t agree with a super puke is not far behind.

Aidan.  Mr Blue Eyes.  What can I say about it.  I love  him.  He’s my special little man.  Greets me every morning with a smile and shriek of happiness.  He has four teeth still.  No signs of new teeth yet.  He too can climb the stairs if he’s in the mood for showing off.  He loves his mommy.  He also loves to sit quietly on his own with a toy and just play.  I love that about him since usually the girls are hanging off me wanting to play with them.  He still has his blue eyes and blonde hair.

I wouldn’t change anything about my life with three under three.  They keep me on my toes that for sure.

Happy Birthday Madeline and Aidan!!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

