30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

A little morning humour…

Leave a comment

I’ll just set the scene, this was just the other morning.  I get Isabelle up out of bed first.  I open her door and say “Good Morning”.  She’s quick to toss off her covers if she still has them, throw her soother on the floor, toss puppy aside and slide down out of bed.

She then follows me to our room, where I change her diaper up on our bed.  On this morning, Isabelle followed me to our room but stopped at our door.  I grabbed her diaper and sat down on the bed.  I showed her the diaper and asked her if she wanted her bum changed.  Here’s where things got cute and humorous.

Isabelle:  Daddy???

Me: He’s at work honey.

Isabelle: Uh hummmmm.  She says with her arms crossed in front of her and sort of looking around.

Me: Time to change your bum.

Isabelle:  Maka???  (Just to let you all know, Maka is what she has named my Mom.  Maka is also the name of a character on the show In the Night Garden which is her fav show.)

Me:  Grandma is at home, she’s not coming over today.  Come on up, let’s change your bum.

Isabelle: Uh hummmmm.  Again she says with her arms crossed looking around.

Me:  Come on Isabelle, time to change your bum.

Isabelle:  Babies???

Me:  They are in their room waiting for us, now lets change your bum and go get them!

Isabelle: Uh hummmm, okay!

She trots over to the bed and we change her bum.  I don’t know that was all about but it was just cute and a nice way to start my morning with her. 

I guess when I sit back and think of all the things Isabelle is doing these days it makes me realize just how fast the last two years have gone by.  She’s my baby, my first baby and in two days she will be turning 2.  I’m so scared that the rest of her life is going to go by this quickly.  This time last year was my original due date.  Isabelle was due on the 23rd of Feb.  My labour and all the motions started on the 23rd but she hung in there until the morning of the 25th.  I can remember 2 years ago today thinking that I was going to be a Mom soon.  And just how incredible it was going to be to meet our little baby.  How nervous I was as to whether or not I was going to be a good mom.  The panic of all that didn’t really sink in until I was actually being admitted to deliver Isabelle.  Ha.  I went in to the ER thinking they would just check me out, tell me I was fine and then I’d be sent home.  Wrong.  The Dr. asked me if I brought my bags, I laughed at her.  She said to Ian he better go home and get them.  That was the exact moment I started to freak out.  9 months I carried this little person inside me and now it was time to be responsible.  Not that I’m not a responsible person.  But this is a whole new level.

Here we are 2 years later.  Isabelle is a smart, beautiful, loving little individual.  I love everything about her.  She’s perfect and she’s mine.  Having children has changed me so many ways.  I’m so blessed to have my kids.

I was trying to think of all the words that Isabelle knows now.  And I thought I’d make a list.  But I honestly think she knows more words than I could remember in order to make a list.  She is constantly bringing me books to read her.  Today we were looking at one that was about cars.  And I was so proud of her for being able to tell me the colours of some of the cars without having to be told first.

Today Madeline was “walking” with the assistance of her little walker toy.  And Isabelle was walking alongside her saying “good girl” and it was just too cute.  Isabelle had other motives however, she just wanted to take the walker toy the second Madeline let go, but still.  It’s nice to think that just possibly Isabelle was being supportive of her sister.  I think it’s going to rock Isabelle’s world when Madeline starts walking.  Madeline loves being where ever Isabelle is.  This is going to get interesting.

Aidan is still working on building up his strength to stand.  It will take him some time but he will get there.  He’s determined to be able to look out those front windows.  Aidan loves to play quietly but he also loves the chance to bug the girls and get into whatever they were into.  I love Aidan’s smile.  He’s my little man for sure.  The twins are very affectionate whereas Isabelle is the opposite.  I usually have to ask Isabelle for a hug or a kiss, the twins are just all over it.  Very cuddly.  However Isabelle has been known to give hugs and kisses without warning.

It’s late, I’m tired.  I’m not getting enough sleep these days.  Why I’m up so late tonight I have no idea. 2 more sleeps until my baby turns 2.  Next thing you know she’ll be turning 13!!

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

