30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Another month older…

Leave a comment

Well today marks the day that Isabelle is now 21 months and the twins are 8 months!  Ian and I have been reflecting on our life lately, this is usually done at night while feeding the twins their bottles.  It’s a nice quiet time for us both to talk and think.  I said to Ian the other night that this time last year, I was pregnant with the twins and Isabelle was just learning to crawl.  This will also be the first Christmas for me in two years that I will not be pregnant.  It almost feels strange to me to not be counting down the days until we have a new baby in the house.  However it also does bring some relief as well.  I miss being pregnant terribly, I love all that there is to being pregnant, except for the horrible heartburn, I love the attention it gets and most of all I love the feeling of the baby moving.  Ian and I consider ourselves to be pretty lucky to have been able to have 3 beautiful children.  We talked that we would have 4 kids but I think we are feeling blessed with the three we have.

Our life is just starting to calm down again.  The twins aren’t far from being a little more independent.  Isabelle is learning to use the potty and feeds herself like a champ when she feels she’s been served something she likes.  She’s adventurous and carefree and loves to learn and do new things.  I think we are in a good place now and we’d just like to move forward.  I’d love to have another baby but I’ll leave that task up to my sister in law once she gets married next year!  I don’t know if the dogs could handle yet another ear puller or tail grabber in the house either!

I had planned to get out with the kids today but it’s raining and yukky.  So we all played on the floor today.  Madeline is still trying very hard to figure out how to make her body move forwards and not backwards.  Aidan and happy to just toss his little body about to get places.  Who needs to crawl when you can just roll around all over the place.

Isabelle is a huge fan of the play doh I bought her a few weeks back.  She will get it out to play with any chance she gets and is totally devastated when it’s time to put it away.  I can’t wait to give her the finger painting set for her birthday.  I realize this is something she and I could do now, but I’m holding off on giving it to her until the twins are able to play and move a bit better on their own.  That way I can set those two up on the floor with toys and then Isabelle and I can be at the table.

I am really looking forward to the runny noses going away.  I don’t know what it is with this cold, but the stuffy noses keep lingering.  Madeline having her usual “I want my bottle so make it faster fit” and when I finally got to her you would swear she had signed up for the Guniess records “Who can blow the biggest snot bubble” contest.  It was gross and huge!  Poor kid.

Well I don’t want to use up all my free time at the computer.  I’ve got a laundry monster growing in my laundry room, I can’t see my kitchen countertop as usual and I’d like a nap before the kids wake up too.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

