30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

What a week…..

Leave a comment

Last week was terrible.  I didn’t sleep, the kids didn’t sleep, Ian didn’t sleep…the dogs however managed to sleep as usual.

It all began with a cold.  Someone brought a cold into the house.  It started with Ian.  I mentioned this before.  Then the kids all got fevers, Isabelle was the worst.  Then it was over.  1 full week went by and I thought we were out of the clear.  Then I wake up with a sore throat.  Next day I get a runny nose and head congestion.  A day or so after that, Madeline has a runny nose and decides to stop sleeping.  Next Aidan decides to stop sleeping also.  They slept during the day at least, but I rarely had time to rest myself because there is still the rest of the family that needs a wife, and mommy.

Then Ian goes on night shift.  This is where the real torture set in.  Ian had a busy week, his shift ends 1am(ish) he wasn’t getting home until 8 or 9am.  Add in that I wasn’t getting much more rest because the twins were up constantly.  How does one mommy make two crying babies feel better?  Who makes mommy feel better?  It was a long hard week.  My mom was there to help for evening bath and bedtime.  And she even stayed late a few times because the twins would wake before she had the chance to leave.  I really am not sure how I would have managed if we were still up north.

Things seem to have gone back to normal for now.  They both still have runny noses but are at least staying asleep for the whole night again.  They have even let us sleep in a few times.

Teeth.  Both Madeline and Aidan now have bottom teeth.  I’m not looking forward to the rest of their teeth coming since both of these guys are cranky teethers.  Isabelle was so easy, she would just get a tooth and move on.  She didn’t need to chew on anything, she hardly had tylenol or orajel.  Maddy and Aidan are a different story.  I was worried that the pharmacist was going to ask my why I was buying so much infant tylenol and advil.  Some days I feel like they are getting too much and then I don’t want to give it, however if I don’t I pay for it.  It’s hard to please them both, they like different flavours and currently everything we have is grape flavour.  Guess which babies don’t care for grape!

Crawling.  Almost there for Madeline.  She wants so badly to move.  And she does move just not always in the direction she wants to be going.  Aidan is still just working on the pushups.  He hasn’t gotten up on to his knees yet.  He seems to be behind Madeline in most things.  I think he just likes to be carried and held. 

Bouncy Chair mishaps.  Aidan and Madeline are now fans of twisting themselves around so much that they now can get themselves out of their bouncy chairs.  I’ve posted a picture on facebook of Aidan showing how not to sit in a bouncy chair.  For all the hard work and effort they put into getting that way they sure do scream for help quickly and loudly.

Car seats.  We now have all three kids in their big kid car seats.  Madeline and Aidan were too tall for their infant car seats so we bought two new car seats for the girls.  They are matching in colour and Aidan has Isabelle’s old combination car seat since the colours were more for a boy anyways.

Superduperwickedawesome Stroller.  We’ve been out and about a few times with the new stroller.  It’s awesome and I love it.  It gives me the freedom to be out with all three kids.  And also just even knowing that I can go out with all three is awesome also.  However, going at it alone is quite the lengthy production and is a lot of work.  I’ve been sick this past week so we haven’t gone out at all.  I was going to try today but when I wanted to pack up and go the twins were a bit cranky so I fed them some food instead.  Next thing I knew it was nap time.  And I just can’t let them miss out on afternoon naps. 

So back to the stroller.  This weekend Ian and I went out to Costco for some items.  It was crazy busy there.  Now I’m used to getting looked at and I’m getting used to the comments I get.  But this weekend was by far the worst experience ever.  People were stopping us to look at the stroller.  This one lady practically dragged her husband over to look at it.  And then followed us for a bit commenting on the stroller.  Other women came up to me and said the usual “Oh you must be a very busy Mommy”, “How do you manage, you poor thing” and so on and so on.  First of all when I go out I try to make sure that I look decent, showered, do my hair up a little and try to wear something that doesn’t have baby puke on it.  I want to look like a person who has a handle on things.  And I think I do look like that.  I have a smile on my face, I’m alert and ready to go.  So when people come up to me and ask me how do I do it or tell me how busy I am for the 300 thousandth time I am prepared to answer with a smile.  But this time at Costco I was about ready to leave.  People gawking at us, touching me and the kids and following us around to look at the stroller.  I don’t mind being helpful when people ask where we bought it etc, however I am there to shop also just like everyone else.  So I don’t want to have to stop every 4 ft to show off my kids and stroller.

I feel like a bit of a freak show.  It makes wanting to go out less desirable because I don’t want to put up with everyone looking at my family like a freak show.  Yes world, I’ve got 3 kids 13 months apart and yes we have twins.  Yes, we are busy but we are managing just fine.  Yes, life is crazy but it could be worse!

I am thankful for my family and feel very blessed because we have our family.  So I can shrug all these crazies off and get ready to smile and laugh it off again the next time we go out.

Well I’ve got an hour left in the kids nap time so I’m going to set myself up on the couch and zone out for a while.  13 sleeps until my birthday!  We will be spending that weekend in TO thanks to my parents for sending Ian, Isabelle and I away for one night.  We can’t wait.  We’re really looking forward to taking Isabelle swimming and perhaps some shopping too!  I didn’t post much about Isabelle today, I will post again this week about her. 

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

