30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

How on earth??!!

Leave a comment

This is the question I keep asking myself. “How on earth did I manage to break my freaking 4th toe”?!!

The was going so well. It was just before 2pm and Madeline was fussing as it was time for everyone to go down for their naps. I decided to change their diapers quickly before hauling
everyone upstairs one at a time. Just as I was about to change Madeline the phone started
ringing. Normally I wouldn’t care but something inside me said to answer the phone. So I got up off the floor started walking and *bang* I hit my toes on the ottoman. I’ve banged my toes lots folks, those of you who know me know that my toes are like fingers. But this time felt special. I looked down and yep, my 4th toe (the one beside your baby toe) was sticking out sideways from where it should be. So needless to say I wasn’t going to be answering the phone, but I still had to go get the phone as I now needed to call someone to come help me. I was trying to hold it together but this was quite painful. Isabelle and the dogs were getting upset. Madeline was pissed off still because she was tired and had her onesie undone. Aidan however was happy on the floor.

So I called my mom first, and no answer. Called Ian at work and he left immediately. Called mom again, no answer. Called her on her cell, she answered….oddly enough was at home. (that’s a whole other story) So told her and she was on her way. Ian arrived home, about 15 minutes later Mom arrived. Off to hospital Ian and I went. Took me a bit to get to our car but I got there. After about 3.5 hours at hosptial, turns out that yes indeed I broke my toe. Should heal up in a few weeks.

So this is going to make life a little interesting. My mom is currently helping Ian with bathtime. Ian will take tomorrow off work and then he’s got two days off. So I’ve got 3 days to heal! C’mon body don’t fail me now. I have to book an appointment with my family Dr to see how long to keep it splinted and wrapped up. Not sure why they couldn’t tell me that there. The hospital here was okay but I’ve been to a nursing station in the north and had better care and they almost killed me once!!

Anyways, I feel my painkiller setting in and I’m going to try to have a nap. Aren’t I just the luckiest girl in the world. The nice part of having a broken toe, is that during the time I was waiting for Ian and my mom to show, Isabelle was the most adorable child ever. She was giving me this nice big hugs and kisses to help me feel better. I love her so much. And Madeline and Aidan did their part also, they fell asleep in their bouncy chairs. I love my kids.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

