30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

Sleep?

Leave a comment

I’m exhausted today and it’s my own fault. I was trying to live like I only have 1 child who sleep though the night! Last night we stayed up too late as we were trying to catch up on our favourite tv show that we recorded while living in Inuvik. So of course when both babies were up during the night wanting to be fed and changed I was seriously dragging my behind. This morning when everyone woke up it was even worse. I find this strange almost since we had at least a good 3 hour stretch from the time they were last up. Isabelle now gets up around 8am or after and that’s also usually when the twins are waking up again for a feed/change. I can’t believe how tired I was at 8am. I should be used to being up this early!

Tonight, we go to bed early!

Currently everyone (children) is napping. Isabelle woke up about an hour after being put down and was not thrilled when she was tucked back in and left in her room. However, she did only protest for about 2 minutes. Obviously she was more tired than she thought! Today she was a big helper and tried to give Aidan his bottle. I missed this event as I was passed out on the loveseat with Madeline. Ian said it was pretty cute but that Aidan wasn’t too impressed after a few seconds of a bottle being shoved in his face. Isabelle tries her best to be gentle with them, but still does try to poke them in the head from time to time. I’m really proud of how well she is adjusting to them. If Ian or I kiss one of them and then ask her to do the same she will let us hold the baby very close to her face and she will put her head on theirs. It’s very cute. We will have to try for a photo of this at some point.

Isabelle is very sucky when I’m holding Madeline or Aidan. She wants to cuddle with me and whichever twin I’m holding. She doesn’t seem to do this as much with Ian yet, but I figure the more time he spends with her she will do this with him also. I can very much see her turning into Daddies girl because so much of my time is taken up with the twins. That’s not to say that a lot of Ian’s time isn’t taken up also, but Isabelle and I went from being with each other 24/7 to her not getting half as much attention now. This makes me very sad really. I feel like she’s growing up so fast and I’m missing so much of it even though I’m home with her full time. I can’t imagine what it’s like for working mom’s.

Now a bit about Tuk. I haven’t posted much on the topic of Tuk, actually I don’t think I’ve talked about it at all! Not much has changed, we haven’t heard much from staffing. They are working on a few things and hopefully we’ll hear something soon. The weather is starting to warm up finally! I’ve heard rumours of it getting up to -7 this week! Hooray! After the bitter cold weather we had while in Inuvik it’s nice to come home and have it warm up. There is still about 6 feet of snow in the back yard however so it will be a while before we see the ground in some places. 6 feet is probably the highest point of snow, as for the driveways and what not I have no idea how much snow there is. I have a few pictures of snowbanks to post in the Tuk folder on our web page. I will try to do this tonight or tomorrow.

Our office has grown by a few new members. It’s nice to have them here especially with Ian on leave, it helps lessen the stress on the office a bit. Everyone is doing well, one couple up here just got engaged on their last holiday, congrats to them! Our other friends up here have their wedding quickly approaching so we are excited for them also. Max and Jersey have new friends as both of the new couples have dogs here also. One couple has two huskies and the other have a Beagle. Max and Jersey have not yet met the Beagle. I’m curious as to how they handle the small one as their last experience with a small dog did not go well. At least for Jersey, I don’t think Max has met a small dog yet.

Well I believe I hear a baby over the monitor. We have them nap in their crib during the day and they have been sleeping in their playpen/bassinet in our room at night. This is going to change starting tomorrow as they will exclusively sleep in their crib. We had Isabelle in our room for two weeks and we did about the same with these guys. I’m now ready to have my room and my own space back. It is easier to have them right here during the night, but their room isn’t that far from us any how so might as well make the move. Anyways, I’m off for now. I’m doing my best at posting. For the next while I may just post when we have updates or any new and exciting news. I hope to have an appointment at the health unit this week so we can have the twins weighed and so on. I’ll let you know how that goes.

Hope everyone is well.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

