30 fingers&toes

"Are they triplets?" "No, I found the other one in the parking lot and thought, 'why not?'"

A bit of time to write….

Leave a comment

So we’ve been home for two nights now. The first night did not go well, neither did our first night back at hotel. Last night however was a bit easier and we managed to get a good stretch of sleep. I’m not sure where my story of all this should start so we’ll just go back to the beginning a bit. If I remember correctly I was sent to Inuvik around the 33/34 week mark. We actually had to spend Isabelle’s birthday in the hotel. Luckily Ian was able to be there that day so we could spend it as a family. Ian was doing the back and forth from Tuk to Inuvik until the Dr decided that I was doing too much and needed to be put on restricted activites and moderate bedrest. I was happy to not have to be in bed 23 hours a day, I think I would have lost my mind if that had happened. Ian went home for two days to get organized and finish up some work stuff before returning to Inuvik for the birth.

Time dragged in the hotel because the weather was horrifyingly cold and we weren’t able to take Isabelle out as much as we had wanted. We were going to buy her a little sled to go on walks in the park so I could get some fresh air and a bit of exercise but that was all canceled. Isabelle was a trooper at the hotel. I know how much I hated it and I can’t believe she didn’t hate it more than us. Once we had the larger room things picked up a little. I was so relieved to have Ian as I was having a lot of contractions on a daily basis. Those pretty much stopped once he was there full time. I was also seriously uncomfortable and lacking in sleep. I was up to pee every two hours, but even if I was “sleeping” my tummy was so big and awkward and the babies were on the go that I hardly slept. Add in the terrible heartburn since my stomach was pushed up so far I’m surprised that I couldn’t see it just looking down my throat! I had to spend a few nights sitting up trying to sleep or I just went without sleep and sat up all night.

My stomach measured at 52cm for my last appointment. That was a Friday, the weekend before my c section. We were told that my c section would be on the 24th of March and pre-op would be Monday. Finally a date was set. It was nice to know the end was near. Sadly that excitement came to a quick halt when we recieved the call on Monday night that they did not have the correct type of blood for me. It appears that I’ve developed an antibody (Anti-C) and that while they had O+ blood, it needed to have the Anti-C in it as well. So that had to be sent up from YK. It made it up and was cross matched with my blood and so everything was a go for the 25th. I checked in on the night of the 24th since it would be easier rather than getting up at 4am and having to rush around getting Isabelle ready to go to the babysitter. Ian didn’t have to be at the hosptial until 7am. So he was able to be with Isabelle until our babysitter arrived and then he headed over. My day started around 530, they hooked up my IV and a few other things to me. Then I waited. Ian showed up early! I thought for sure he’d be a few minutes late. We sat for a bit and waited. The nurse came and I got on to the stretcher to be taken to the OR. We got all the way to the doors, but were early and no one was quite ready so we were wheeled back to our room for another few minutes.

Once in the OR, when everyone was ready, I was moved on to the table, which is a weird feeling, and they checked a few things and then had me sit up and put my feet on a stool so that I could get the epidural. They put this patch on my back earlier in the morning that made the location numb. I felt nothing other than a slight sensation of something in my spine. One leg went number pretty quickly followed by the other. I was helped back on to the table and was then quickly undressed and the drape went up and then they were ready for Ian to come in. I didn’t even realize they had started until I felt immense relief, that was the feeling of Madeline coming out. I swear I could feel my internal organs going back to where they were 9 months ago! Next came Aidan and it felt good having him out of there too! Madeline was born at 0834 she was 8lbs even, 53 cm long, head circumference 35.25cm, chest 33.5cm. Aidan was born 0835 and he was 7lbs even, 51.5cm long, head circumfernce 31.5cm and chest 31.5cm. Ian couldn’t get close enough to where Aidan was being looked after to get his first picture. A little disappointing but we’ve taken lots of pictures since. I was sewn up, in the recovery area for maybe 15 minutes and then back on my way to my room to see Ian with the twins.

My room was awesome by the way. It was much larger than the room we had when Isabelle was born. The staff told us they figured with twins we might need a bit more space! I laugh at that now because Madeline and Aidan shared the same bassinet while there the whole time.
We had the chance to be discharged on day 3 since we were all doing so well and we were staying in town for a few more days, but we decided to stay until day 4. While in hospital there were 4 or 5 more babies born! They were very busy on the floor with deliveries that they couldn’t always take the twins out of the room to give me a break. We did get to have two nights without them in the room which was awesome. The other two nights were very long nights!

Isabelle came to visit us in the hospital every day. It was such a change to see her the day the twins were born. She came in the room and she was just a giant to me! I almost cried because to me she is still a baby! Even though she’s walking and “talking” and doing big girl things, she’s still my first little baby. I couldn’t believe how big she was. What made me the most sad is that I couldn’t have her up on the bed with me the first day, I just wanted to hold her so bad! She did well meeting Madeline and Aidan. She’s curious and wants to see them on her own terms. She doesn’t want you to put them anywhere near her. She wants to go up to them herself. She will reach out for them, but won’t always touch them.

The day we got back to the hotel, she was very sucky with me. She was coming up to Aidan and I and putting her head down on my knees or on my tummy. It too made me sad or at least emotional. I still can’t pick her up which just breaks my heart because I just want to pick her up and toss her around and give her hugs and so on. For now we just do all these things sitting down. Isabelle is pretty sucky around the house. She falls and she cries, she can’t get something she cries, she wants food she cries, she wants badlly to sit with me she cries, I give a baby a bottle she cries. It’s quite the noisy household when all three are not getting what they want. Isabelle doesn’t like it when the twins cry. She gets this worried look on her face and whines. We just explain what we can and she’ll get it eventually.

The journey home: Well we had two adults and 3 children. This makes flying home and driving impossible. Flying because you need all three children to be held by and adult. Driving impossible because you need a truck that can hold 3 carseats across the backseat and nevermind that we had a playpen, stroller, 3 pieces of luggage and whatever else we collected while staying in Inuvik for 5 weeks. How did we solve the problem you ask? Well luckily two members from Tuk were driving in the day we were coming home. So we asked the wife of one to come in for the day and we flew her home with us. We also had one of the members drive our truck back in that night which really helped cut down on the excess baggage we would have had to pay.

It was and still is great to be home. The first night was a gong show as both Madeline and Aidan took turns being awake about an hour a part from each other. Then when they did go to sleep, Isabelle was up for the day two hours later. Last night went better, everyone let us get a bit more sleep. Isabelle is still up nice and early, I’d love to know where the day goes. We’ve been up since 7am and it’s already 530! Well I’m off, Isabelle is looking for something called “num num” which equals “I’m hungry”.

Thanks to everyone for the emails and messages on facebook. We are so happy to have Madeline and Aidan a part of our family.

Author: 30fingersandtoes

Parenting and adulting is hard. There is no manual. No volume control. No self cleaning house and self refilling fridge. This is my story of navigating through the ups and downs of our crazy-wonderful life.

Leave a Reply

